Section 8 for the Disabled

As a person with a disability, you have a chance to own a home to live in with your kids. You can focus on your job and other means of earning money to improve your family’s standard of living. Section 8 housing assistance program gives American citizens with disabilities the support they need to live a healthy lifestyle. The program was created to ensure that everyone gets the right home for their family. This article answers some of the fundamental questions that come to mind about Section 8 for the disabled.

What is Section 8 disability?

Section 8 is a federal government-funded housing assistance program that partners with landlords to pay a percentage of low-income families rent. The tenant agrees to pay 30% of the rent while the government pays the rest of the rent. You can apply for the Section 8 housing assistance program. Visit to learn more about the rules guiding the Section 8 housing assistance program.

Can Section 8 be taken away?

Yes. Section 8 rental assistance can be taken away from families and individuals who contravene the Section 8 program rules. Aside paying your rent, keeping the house in excellent condition and informing the Housing Authority of changes in your earnings and family size, you are expected not to break any of the following rules; partaking in violent crimes, drug-related crimes, alcohol abuse that threatens the well-being of other tenants, allowing someone else to live in the rented house, falsification of information, late payment of rent, not having utilities such as water, gas, electricity in the building. As a single mom, ensure you know and comply with the rules. Visit to learn about the rules and regulations guiding the Section 8 program.

What are Section 8 requirements for the disabled?

Americans who desire to apply for the Section 8 housing assistance program need to meet some requirements before they’re given housing aids. As a Section 8 applicant with disabilities, you’ll need to meet the income or disability requirements. Furthermore, you must be a citizen of America. You’ll be asked to show proof. You’ll need to prove that you’ve not been evicted from any public housing system for drug-related crimes within the last three years. Also, you mustn’t have been convicted for the production of methamphetamine in any public housing system. For more general requirements, visit

How long can you be on Section 8 as a disabled?

There’s no limit to the number of years you can seek government help through the Section 8 housing assistance program. You can live in your home for as long as you desire since you comply with the rules and regulations guiding the Section 8 housing assistance program. Visit to know about how long you can be on the Section 8 program.

Can you pass your Section 8 to someone else?

No. You can’t pass your Section 8 housing benefits to someone else. It’s against the rules and regulations governing the Section 8 to transfer Housing Choice Vouchers to another person. You can show the landlord your housing voucher as proof that you’re allowed to look for Section 8 housing units. Never give your Section 8 voucher to someone. For more information about the Section 8 Housing Choice Vouchers, visit to learn more Section 8 housing program.

What is the purpose of Section 8 for the disabled?

The Section 8 housing assistance program was created to solve the housing challenges that Americans face. The program is administered by the  United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). To qualify for housing assistance as a person with disabilities, you must meet the requirements and then contact Public Housing Authorities (PHAs). You can also visit to know more about the PHA you’d contact to start your Section 8 application process.

How can I get approved for Section 8 fast as a disabled?

After you’ve ascertained your eligibility for the Section 8 housing assistance program, contact your local PHA. Your local PHA will cross-check your information about the requirements in your state and the available housing options. You’ll have to exercise patience as there’s a waiting list for the housing assistance program. Sometimes the waiting list could be as long as a year. But given that you specified in your application form that you have a disability, then your PHA can move you to the priority list. Visit to know about other requirements and documents you’ll need to start your application process.

How is a family’s income calculated in Section 8?

One of the main requirements for eligibility in Section 8 is the income level requirements. The HUD categories incomes of families and individuals into three groups, namely; extremely low income, very low income, and low income. Priority is given to the extremely low-income group. In determining the eligibility of an applicant, every legal source of income is taken into consideration. These sources include but are not limited to; alimony, child support, welfare, salary, tips, commission, pension, retirement fund, income from assets, social security, etc. Visit to learn how your income determines your Section 8 eligibility.